Royal Berkshire Fire Authority is the public body which manages Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service through a democratic decision-making structure.

The role of the Authority is to set the annual budget and approve the Service’s plans, policies, standards and strategies. It also approves the composition of Committees.

The Authority comprises of 20 local councillors appointed by the six unitary authorities in the county: Bracknell Forest Borough Council, Reading Borough Council, Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead, Slough Borough Council, West Berkshire District Council and Wokingham Borough Council.

For more information about the Fire Authority click on the following links:

Fire Authority Meetings Councillors
• Forward Plan  Contact a Fire Authority Member
• Calendar of meetings  Register of Councillors’ interests
Programme of meetings Scheme of Allowances
• Councillor Member Development Charter Information
• Royal Berkshire Fire Authority Member Role Description 2016/17

Our Strategic Commitments