Fire Stations

Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service (RBFRS) provides cover 24 hours a day, 365 days a year from 18 fire stations across the county of Berkshire, ranging from Langley and Slough in the east to Lambourn and Hungerford in the west.

Fire stations are crewed by a mix of wholetime (full-time) and on-call (retained) firefighters dependent on the risk determined for each area. Fire stations are crewed by a rotating watch duty system of operational personnel, where these watches work the following:

  • Two days of 9am to 6pm 
  • Two nights of 6pm to 9am
  • Four days off-duty


Wokingham is the most recent fire station to be built across the county. It was opened in September 2011. 
The station took 11 months to build and had a £1.5 million investment. The building project involved the demolition of the two existing Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service owned houses and replaced the old station on a neighbouring site in Denton Road, which had only provided daytime cover for the town. 
The station is designed to be as environmentally friendly as possible in order to reduce operating costs. It has solar panels, automatic lights and collects rain water to recycle and use within the fire station. 
The station generates an income from the solar panels as well as the drill tower which is leased to a telecommunications company. Savings on the cost of water usage also contribute to providing a cost effective operational fire station. 
A time capsule was buried during construction containing photographs, information on Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service, a breathing apparatus tally and a firefighter’s uniform shirt. 
The fire station boasts two appliance bays, as well as an on-site lecture room which provides a facility for members of the community and an opportunity to interact with staff at the station.
Crew Type
1x fire engine
Easthampstead Road, Wokingham, Berkshire, RG40 2EH
Wokingham Fire Station has step free access on site. There is a fully accessible toilet on site.
Easthampstead Road
RG40 2EH
United Kingdom